2 Lover’s Dialogue

July 12, 2011

It’s a lovely day and you enjoy it by sitting outside your favorite coffee shop or restaurant when this couple comes along and you can’t help but overhear their conversation….

She: “I’m so looking forward to our wedding day. I love you so much. I really wish I could see more of you, spend every moment together. Each day isn’t long enough. I want to know everything about you.”

He: “Yes, dear, I know. I’m going to send you a book that describes more about my life to you. I’m sure you’ll get a lot out of it.”

She: “I’ll be glad to read anything you write, but I just want to be with you. I just want to hold your hand, hug you, kiss you.”

He: “I’m sure you do, Beloved. Let me send you a tape describing the role of physical affection at different stages of courtship. I’m sure you will find it helpful.”

She: (somewhat disappointed) “That’s wonderful, darling. It’s just that I so look forward to our wedding day. I want to be with you so badly.”

He: “Yes intimacy is important. I’d like to send you to a weekend seminar that really should be quite helpful in understanding all of this.”

About this time, you are wondering how a woman could love such a man. Thankfully God does not give up on us when we are like this! So often we think if we overload ourselves with reading about Him, learning about Him, and such we will know Him. We learn how to play pretend with our religion, but the relationships part is shaky at best.  Even when we are like this, God is in the background and He’s calling to you. He’s calling you away to be with Him. Like Song of Solomon says:

Lover: “How beautiful you are my darling! Oh, how beautiful! You’re eyes are doves!”

Beloved: “How handsome you are, my lover! Oh, how charming! And our bed is verdant.”

Lover: “Show me your face, let me hear your voice; for your voices is sweet, and your face is lovely… Your mouth is like the best wine.”

Beloved: “May the wine go straight to my lover, flowing gently over lips and teeth. I belong to my lover, and your desire is for me. Come, my lover, let us go to the countryside, let us spend the night in the villages…”

Sounds pretty intimate, right? Do we forget that God is this kind of lover? This is just a hint of the dialogue God has with us. But how often do we talk to Him as two lovers talk? with such intimacy? It takes two people to have a relationship. Perhaps you have been in a relationship or have observed a couple in a relationship that wasn’t two-sided.  This is the God of the Universe, don’t be confused that God is just like a boyfriend. He is so much bigger and better than anything we can imagine, but in our romance with God we too often stand by. We hope to be lavished in His love, but we forget to play our part in this sacred romance.

(Dialogue comes from “The Sacred Romance”)

One Response to “2 Lover’s Dialogue”

  1. brendon said

    very nice

Leave a Reply

